Kate Somerville Goat Milk Cleanser

To summarise…….

Love, like or hate it?
Sad to say I hate it. Ok, that feels a little strong, let’s say strongly dislike.

Irritation level (redness/itchiness/sting factor)
No redness or itchiness but there was definitely stinging which surprised me. On sensitised patches, I would give it a sting factor of 2 out of 5 but on broken skin, it definitely was more 4 out 5.

Moisturising/Tightness
This was very moisturising. When washed off, the feeling of tightness that comes with my type of skin didn’t start until a few minutes after and it felt very soft to touch.

Texture
Medium viscosity, think Aveeno daily moisturiser. Nice and creamy. See photos below.

Cost
£32 for a decent 120ml. This is only available via Cult Beauty or direct on Kate Somerville’s website. First time buyers on Cult Beauty can normally get a discount but otherwise, it is what it is.

The good, the bad and the ugly (Full ingredient list below)
This is pretty much a stellar product in terms of ingredients, including the moisturising glycerin, the anti inflammatory jojoba and antioxidant avocado, all of which are supposedly very good for eczema. There is however parfum which is definitely a no no for most people with sensitive skin. However, it is 7th from the bottom of the list. Lastly, this is the one I am not sure on. It contains Lactic acid which in itself is a great ingredient, a gentle exfoliator and hydrator. It falls at 21 out of 39 in the ingredients list. However, when my skin is feeling particularly sensitive, it does not like this product AT ALL and I’m wondering if this might the reason as I am having difficulty introducing acids into my skincare routine. I had no idea it contained this ingredient until I wrote this (well, I did say I wasn’t a beauty expert!)

Thoughts
Developed by Kate Somerville, an LA aesthetician and skin care guru, this Goat’s Milk Moisturizing Cleanser is formulated to be suitable for all skin types including sensitive. The inclusion of goats milk makes it ideal for people with eczema and psoriasis. It’s has cult product status and this coupled with Kate Somerville’s own experience of healing her eczeamous skin with goats milk meant this was high on my list of products to try. I had high hopes for something developed by an aesthetician with eczema and given that my skin was settled with just a few dry patches on my forehead, I thought it would be the perfect time to try it.

On first thoughts the consistency was beautifully creamy with a balmy vanilla smell. It gently smoothed onto skin (well, unless you don’t read the instructions and apply to a dry instead of damp face thus creating a drag akin to a child going down a plastic slide with no socks on. You get the picture right? Read the instructions people!) I was enjoying the sensory experience when I felt a little stinging on my dry patches. It wasn’t too bad, perhaps a 2 out 5? I washed it off and thought no more of it. My skin felt moisturised and soft to the touch which is what we all want from a product right? Unfortunately, on consequent uses, the sting factor upped a few levels particularly when I had actual sore patches of eczema. I have to say that I was particularly disappointed at the irritation caused by this product considering the skin type it was designed for, and also as I know that goat’s milk has healing properties. I was hoping that I had discovered a HG product so I am disappointed that it didn’t work for me. This cleanser has reluctantly now been relegated to the give away to the family/friends bin.

Buy it again?
Sadly, no.

Full ingredients list
Aqua/Water/Eau, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Glycerin, Polyglyceryl-3 Methylglucose Distearate, Betaine, Glyceryl Distearate, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Xylitylglucoside, Propanediol, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprae Lac (Goat Milk, Lait de Chèvre), Lactose, Milk Protein, Lactic Acid, Tocopherol, Mel Extract (Honey Extract, Extrait de Miel), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Extract, Bisabolol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium Lauroyl Glutamate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Xylitol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Anhydroxylitol, Parfum (Fragrance), Stearic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Xanthan Gum, t-butyl Alcohol, Benzyl Salicylate

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started